What Does Private Browsing Actually Do On iPhone?

What Does Private Browsing Actually Do On iPhone?
Photo by Kevin Paster: https://www.pexels.com/photo/macbook-pro-on-brown-wooden-table-1901388/

Safari’s Private Browsing Mode is a useful privacy feature for people who wish to quickly hide their surfing histories. That, however, is where its privacy protection ends. Even if you use Private Browsing, you can still be tracked. Not all is lost, though: we’ll tell you what to do on an iPhone to prevent your private browsing from being observed.

What exactly is Private Browsing?

Safari’s implementation of a private browsing mode is called Private Browsing. Here’s what it does:

  • It hides your browsing history on your iPhone.
  • You won’t see your Private Mode tabs on other linked Apple devices.

Here’s why it’s there:

  • To provide you with search results that are free of your previous searches. 
  • Allow us to quickly hide your browsing history. Otherwise, you’d have to go into History and delete each inappropriate entry one by one, then clear out the cookies and so on.

However, while you no longer have to worry about someone seeing your iPhone search history, that’s where your privacy protections stop. 

Is Private Browsing mode really secure?

Safari on the iPhone is only private in relation to your device. However, surfing the web entails going beyond the confines of your phone and utilising a third-party infrastructure that you have no control over.

This means you can still be followed. Here’s how it works:

  • Because the website needs this information to answer you,
  • Your ISP can tell from just the data required to establish the connection that you’re utilising their infrastructure to access a website. 
  • Because they are a lighter version of the ISP, any individual who runs the local Wi-Fi may see that you visited since they are a mirror image of it.

Private browsing can’t protect you from things like this. Don’t let your data be seen. Surf privately with a VPN download. VPNs essentially cover your tracks and make you untraceable.

6 methods by which an iPhone’s Private Browsing may be exposed

Yes, you can be tracked in a variety of ways:

Via your IP address

Every home has an address, and every internet device has an IP (Internet Protocol) address. If the website you’re looking for doesn’t know it, it won’t be able to determine where to send the website data. A proxy is a piece of software that allows you to access blocked websites. This entails going to the website only; the text, typefaces, and graphics must be uploaded to your device. As a result, a website may keep track of when it was visited by what IP address and for how long.

Via your account activity

Facebook still knows that it’s you if you log into your Facebook account on Private Browsing. In fact, logging into your account is the most effective approach to defeat any privacy protection strategies you use.

Via Wi-Fi router logs

The router, in other words, routes your data to the internet. As a result, it must know what device is attempting to access which website or service in order to ensure proper routing. Those records can be kept and reviewed for any activity.

Via your ISP

Replace ISP with the word router in the following quotation: Although their infrastructure still needs to know where the data is going, such activities can be logged. And if you’re an American, it might subsequently be sold to data brokers.

Via malware and plug-ins

When you use a secure browser, some plug-ins can monitor you. Malware doesn’t care what kind of private browsing feature you’re using.  

Via browser fingerprinting

Even if you use cookies, your device’s fingerprint can still be detected. HTML5, for example, is the underlying code of modern websites and allows the website to identify you based on your browser, operating system, and hardware. This data can’t be reached or removed.