58.9 F
Los Angeles

HomeNorth Hollywood NewsGallery 800's "Altar of Monsters" Pop Up!

Gallery 800’s “Altar of Monsters” Pop Up!

***

The Halloween pop-up exhibit at Gallery 800 features the illustrious Illustrator Pete Von Sholly and his “Altar of Monsters” works. The altar will be open for worship from October 17 until October 31. This spooktacular will culminate in a Halloween Trick-Or-Treat extravaganza on October 31 from 3-7 pm. This will be kid friendly so feel free to bring family and friends –costumes encouraged! Also on Halloween, Pete will sign copies of his book “History of Monsters.”

Pete Von Sholly and his “History of Monsters”  via www.nohoartsdistrict.com

Pete Von Sholly is an Illustrator who specializes in monsters and published a book called “History Of Monsters.” This is THE ULTIMATE book for fans of ANY and ALL monsters. With more than 1100 fantastic creatures featured, “History of Monsters” is a glorious look at the phenomenon of monsters as they figure in pop culture as well as from the anthropological, psychological and societal angles. This unprecedented illustrated pageant shows the actual history of monsters from man’s earliest fears of the darkness beyond the fire to today’s nightmares to see how these terrors found expression in myth, legend, and entertainment. But whatever the time or medium it’s always in the unknown where the monsters lurk and fester and wait. Step into Pete Von Sholly’s “History of Monsters” and experience the story as never before.

Pete Von Sholly and his “History of Monsters”  via www.nohoartsdistrict.com

“This astounding work traces the evolution and proliferation of monsters through all human history and many cultures, with over 1,100 different examples intertwined into a colorful, informative and fascinating book on a scale that has never before been attempted. Take a guided tour through the dark side of legend, myth, superstition, fiction, animation, film, television and even cryptozoology, and meet every monster that has haunted your nightmares – and quite a few that haven’t (yet) – in this fantastic panorama wrought with the skills of a mature master of the genre.” – Richard Milner, former editor of Natural History magazine and author of Charles R. Knight – The Artist Who Saw Through Time and Darwin’s Universe

Pete Von Sholly and his “History of Monsters”  via www.nohoartsdistrict.com
 

Pete Von Sholly has been drawing since childhood, when he was mesmerized by the cult magazine Famous Monsters of Filmland and devoured classic monster movies on black and white television long after the family had gone to bed. His fascination led to an extensive career as a Hollywood storyboard artist on over 100 feature films, including “The Shawshank Redemption,” “The Green Mile,” “The Mist,” “The Mask,” “Darkman” and “Mars Attacks.” He has storyboarded a Pumpkinhead, a Pinhead, a Jason, two Freddy Kruegers and three Chuckies. In addition, he has churned out monster-filled graphic novels, model kits, and trading cards published by Dark Horse, IDW, BOOM!, Kitchen Sink and others. and created lavishly illustrated editions of classic horror books by H.P. Lovecraft, Joe R. Lansdale and Stephen King. Even his two ventures into political satire, praised by The Washington Post and cited by the Village Voice as best comics of the year, graphically depict what he considers the real monsters of our time: politicians.

 Pete Von Sholly and his “History of Monsters”  via www.nohoartsdistrict.com

WHEN:

Pop-up exhibit “Altar of Monsters”: October 17-31

Pete Von Sholly’s “History of Monsters” book-signing and party: October 31 from 3-7PM.

Halloween Trick-Or-Treat extravaganza on October 31 from 3-7PM

WHERE:

Gallery 800
5108 Lankershim Blvd.
NoHo Arts District 91601

**** For information on Los Angeles theatre, tickets to theatre in North Hollywood’s NoHo Arts District, theatre reviews, the NoHo Event Calendar, restaurants, news and local businesses in NoHo, or anything and everything about the NoHo Arts Community, bookmark nohoartsdistrict.com. Follow us on Twitter @OfficialNoHo. On Instagram @NoHoArtsDistrict and Facebook @NoHoArtsDistrict. 

 

 

lisa BIANCONI

Author: lisa BIANCONI

- Advertise with NoHo Arts District -spot_img

Most Popular