Wednesday, 06 July 2011 10:10


Written by Cathy Wayne
Rate this item
(0 votes)

the poor of new york

Written by Dion Boucicault
Directed by Larry Eisenberg
Produced by Gina Yates for the Group Rep

A classic melodrama, THE POOR OF NEW YORK, is the latest offering from The Group Repertory Theatre at The Lonny Chapman Theatre in North Hollywood.  Directed by Larry Eisenberg, the play presents Gideon Bloodgood (Chris Winfield), an unscrupulous banker who steals the deposit of Captain Fairweather’s (Larry Eisenberg) life savings.  We are then taken through the lives of both families over next 20 years, and the injustice the Fairweather family faces because of Bloodgood’s immoral “dastardly” deed.

Dion Boucicault’s play, set in New York, was first staged in 1857, and both angered its audiences with the corruption and lack of morality on Wall Street, and thrilled them with the burning of the entire set at the end of the play.  The current production will not give you the actual burning of the set, but Director Larry Eisenberg took his cue from classic silent films, and using title cards, video and musical scoring, transports the audience to this melodrama genre. Considering the current US financial situation, this is quite a timely subject.

This is a large cast with several good performances.  Trisha Hershberger as Alida Bloodgood, daughter of our unscrupulous banker, and Van Boudreaux as Badger, Gideon Bloodgood’s cigar smoking “discharged” employee give us the true melodrama experience.  Michael Robb as Mr. Puffy, Max Bunzel as Paul Fairweather, Understudy Kathleen Taylor as Mrs. Puffy, Juliana Olinka as Mrs. Fairweather, and Kate O’Toole as Lucy Fairweather present enjoyable performances.  Rounding out the cast is Chris Winfield as Gideon Bloodgood, Klair Bybee as Edwards, Larry Eisenberg as Captain Fairweather, Alex Parker as Mark Livingstone, Jimmy Ogburn as Daniel Puffy, and Roy Allen and Francisco Medina as Sundry Gentlemen & Police Officers.

Directed by Larry Eisenberg, Producer for the Group Rep, Gina Yates, good scenic design by Chris Winfield and good costumes by Liz Nankin, excellent visuals by Videographer Christian Ackerman.   Enjoy this latest from The Group Rep at The Lonny Chapman Theatre.

Enjoy !


Cast: Roy Allen, Van Boudreaux, Max Bunzel, Klair Bybee, Larry Eisenberg, Trisha Hershberger, Francisco Medina, Jimmy Ogburn, Juliana Olinka, Kate O’Toole, Alex Parker, Michael Robb, Kathleen Taylor and Chris Winfield.

Director:   Larry Eisenberg

Scenic Design:     Chris Winfield

Lighting Design:   Jazmin Lopez

Sound Design:   Steve Shaw

Costume Design:  Liz Nankin

Prop Mistress:   Tamara Becker

Videographer:   Christian Ackerman

Assistant Director: Drina Durazo

Stage Manager:   Sherry Netherland

Public Relations:   Nora Feldman

Graphic Design:   art & soul design / Doug Haverty

Program:   Kady Douglas


The Lonny Chapman Theatre
10900 Burbank Boulevard
North Hollywood, CA 91601

June 3 – July 10, 2011

Fridays & Saturdays at 8pm
Sunday Matinees at 2pm

$15 - $22

Ticket Purchase:



Read 2818 times

Leave a comment

Do you have an event, video or news to share?  Drop us an email and you may see it on