Movie Reviews

Read the best movie reviews for the latest films showing in N Hollywood movie theatres including: Regency Theatre North Hollywood, Century 8, and Laemmle NoHo 7.

Friday, 31 July 2015 08:35

Reviews of Antman; Trainwreck; Mr. Holmes

Written by

Part superhero movie, part caper film, part dysfunctional family movie (everyone’s got issues), Antman is a nice surprise, an enjoyable entry in the Marvel superhero series that is seemingly taking over the cinematic galaxy.

Wednesday, 08 July 2015 08:33

Reviews of Terminator Genisys; Inside Out

Written by

Arnold Schwarzenegger is ba-a-ack in his signature role for Terminator Genisys, but the question you may have by the end is why anybody bothered.

Friday, 19 June 2015 09:35

Review of Jurassic World; Entourage

Written by

Jurassic World has it all, as rampaging dinosaurs chow down on theme park visitors and employees alike, while Vincent D’Onofrio gets to chew up a lot of scenery.


The future is once again playing at your multiplex, but it could also be the present, with isolated warring factions amidst a parched wasteland and rapacious leaders who bully the underprivileged masses by hoarding all manner of resources, including water and gasoline.

Friday, 08 May 2015 09:05

Review of Avengers: Age of Ultron

Written by

Avengers: Age of Ultron has plenty of fireworks, as befits a movie with no fewer than seven superheroes, a few more superheroes in waiting, some minor bad guys, and one very major villain at the core.

Tuesday, 21 April 2015 09:44

While We’re Young; Woman in Gold

Written by

Noah Baumbach’s While We’re Young is at its best in the early going, as it explores the emerging relationship between a middle-aged, childless couple (Ben Stiller, Naomi Watts) and an affectionate, energetic younger couple (Adam Driver, Amanda Seyfried).

Friday, 27 March 2015 19:29

Courage and Kindness: Cinderella; Insurgent

Written by

Kenneth Branagh’s Cinderella (I never thought I’d use those three words in tandem) turns out to be a visually sumptuous, beautifully scored (Patrick Doyle), and altogether enjoyable rendition of Charles Perrault’s well-known fairy tale, as adapted by Chris Weitz and fairly light on the Grimm.


The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is worth a trip, but you really need to avoid interacting with its proprietor—but more about that later.

Tuesday, 24 February 2015 10:46

More Unsolicited Thoughts on the Oscars

Written by

Years ago when I was a wee lad, I looked forward to the Oscars; my parents would allow me to stay up way past my bedtime and watch what was then a program running a mere 2 ½ hours. I would enjoy the appearances of the “old-time stars” and the opening monologues whether they were delivered by Bob Hope or Johnny Carson; later I would have the same fondness for Billy Crystal’s appearances (and truth be told, I enjoyed David Letterman’s gig).

Friday, 06 February 2015 21:24

Overlooked by Oscar--But You Shouldn’t

Written by

In accordance with the cinematic drought commonly known as February, these are some of my favorite 2014 releases that were generally neglected by the Oscars—and are well worth a first—or second—look.

Friday, 16 January 2015 13:25

Alone in a Crowd: American Sniper; Whiplash

Written by

American Sniper is a riveting, wrenching drama based on Chris Kyle’s autobiography, American Sniper: The Autobiography of the Most Lethal Sniper in U.S. Military History. Expertly directed by Clint Eastwood from a taut, perceptive script by Jason Hall, American Sniper paints a harrowing portrait of a man committed to serving his country (or as he might see it, saving his country) yet fundamentally unprepared to cope with domestic life on the home front. This isn’t exactly uncharted cinematic territory, (Jeremy Renner’s protagonist in The Hurt Locker had some of the same issues), but, bolstered by stellar performances from Bradley Cooper and Sienna Miller, this film succeeds in being equally gripping in war or peace.

While some have been waiting for the screen version of Wicked, I guess we’ll have to make do with the anticipated adaptation of Into the Woods. With a beautiful score by Stephen Sondheim and well-crafted screenplay by James Lapine (adapting his own “book”), Into the Woods approaches a beloved story (or two) in a different manner.

Friday, 12 December 2014 12:32

No One is Alone: Wild; Foxcatcher

Written by

A female hiker with bleeding feet howls in the wilderness as one of her ill-fitting boots plunges into the abyss; so begins Wild, based on Cheryl Strayed’s memoir recounting her efforts to reverse the downward spiral that had become her life by hiking a thousand miles (or more) of the Pacific Coast Trail.

Dispiriting, disappointing, discouraging, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay –Part 1 is my nominee for the non-event of 2014, a film that will be used as ammunition for those who believe that movies are more crassly commercial than ever. In this needlessly protracted preamble to the finale, the only “hunger games’ going on here are the producers’ hunger for your hard-earned money, which supersedes any desire to provide anything resembling satisfying entertainment.

Page 3 of 12

Do you have an event, video or news to share?  Drop us an email and you may see it on NoHoArtsDistrict.com