Latest Lifestyle

Latest from Lifestyle

May 07, 2019

Common questions from dog owners before training:

by Bethany Wilson
May 02, 2019

Third Time’s the Charm.

by Jorge Perez
May 01, 2019

Free Angel Card Reading for May

by Annmari Love
April 30, 2019

4 Tips for choosing the right countertop

by Christopher Porikos
April 29, 2019

Free Monthly Horoscopes - May 2019 - Taurus

by Maya White
April 18, 2019

Managing an Additcted Parent

by Ask AC
April 02, 2019

Your FREE monthly Angel Card reading is here

by Annmari Love
April 01, 2019

Free Monthly Horoscopes - April 2019 - Aries

by Maya White
March 22, 2019

SABOTAGE AT WORK

by Ask AC
March 15, 2019

My top three design elements

by Christopher Porikos
March 14, 2019

How to help teenagers manage their money

by Lillian Appleby
March 05, 2019

Free Angel Card Reading March

by Annmari Love
February 28, 2019

Free Monthly Horoscopes - March 2019 - Pisces

by Maya White
Thursday, 08 June 2017 08:32

Hollywood Fringe Review - "Moments"

Written by
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

Theatre review of "Moments" at the Hollywood Fringe Festival playing through June 25 at the Stephanie Feury Studio Theatre.

Written, directed and produced by Bernadette Armstrong.

How do you take something terrible, something painful and so hard to bare and transform it into power, into purpose…

"Moments" is a play about one woman’s struggle to regain balance in her life after a sexual assault.  Through showing us a little of her life since the assault, how something as inane and every day as road rage can trigger her trauma and take her right back to that moment that changed her forever, we can, even in some small way, connect to her and share her burden.  Is that helpful?  Is it healing?  We can only hope that for her and for the many others like her that it truly is.

This is such a difficult subject.  The writer Bernadette Armstrong does an exquisite job of communicating this women’s fractured life.  Even in her own home she feels little peace and only after calling her therapist can she calm herself.  The audience is caught up in her distress and the truth that the world has a difficult time facing the horrific statistics and that most rape goes unreported.  

By participating in art like this, where our own fears are mirrored by someone else’s reality, we can go some way to show how vulnerable we all are and how big of a problem sexual assault is.  The victims are so often overshadowed by the crime.  How can we help them?  What support do they need? These are not questions I hear too often, the focus is usually on how to prevent it from happening or the punishment for the perpetrators.  “Moments” really gives a very clear picture of the life of a survivor of rape and how isolating it can become.

The Fringe is a perfect venue for “Moments” and, although it might be tough to see, it’s important that we support plays about this subject, especially when they are as expertly handled as this one. 

ADMISSION: $10.

RESERVATIONS: (818) 437-0177.

ONLINE TICKETING: http://hff17.com/4364

Read 2145 times Last modified on Thursday, 08 June 2017 11:16
Samantha Simmonds-Ronceros

Samantha Simmonds-Ronceros
 
Writer, Filmmaker, Musician. Samantha has Produced over 60 short films and Written and Directed 20. She is the co-creator of 52 Films/52 Weeks and The Cinema Tribe Collective. She has written over 400 LA Theatre reviews and is partners in Xpress Records a Music Publishing Company in the UK.  This year she will be directing her first feature film which she also wrote, developing several others and is writing a children’s book. 
 
 

Leave a comment

Do you have an event, video or news to share?  Drop us an email and you may see it on NoHoArtsDistrict.com